Exercise

Swimming for Fitness

Since I embarked on my weight loss battle, I have been trying to find an exercise regime which I can stick to and enjoy! Going to the gym, however, fills me with dread. I’m not sure what it is: the thought of being out of breath, sweaty and uncomfortable for an hour, being in a room surrounded by fellow students who are faster than me or stronger than me, or all of the above.

I do, however, love the post-work out feeling. If I keep my eyes on the prize I can just about manage a good gym session. I figured out a routine in January and I’ve kept it the same ever since: 30 minutes cardio (I run using the hill settings, meaning my thighs and glutes get an extra work out 😉 ), followed by 3 sets of chest flies (whilst lying on an exercise ball – that way my chest and my abs get a work out), 3 sets on the hip abduction machine and 3 sets on the hip adduction machine.

Although I think my routine is perfect for me, I’m still waiting to develop that craving  for the gym that fit people talk about in sports magazines. So, last month I decided to mix up my weekly routine – I started going to the gym twice a week instead of three times, replacing that session with a 45 minute swim.

 10363134_10152516605738092_8638403617189275221_n

Having grown up on an island, swimming is second nature to me – I’m actually quite good at it! I hadn’t realised before, but swimming really does work so many muscle groups. It’s great for boosting your bust and toning your upper arms, and breast stroke really works your legs too.

In the swimming pool, it’s easy to push yourself to the next level – you might get out of breath but no one (not even you), will realize how hard you’re working out: there’s no redness and no sweating!

According to the NHS website, a slow swim for a 60kg person will burn 240kcal in 30 minutes. By working a little harder, I definitely burn more calories than I do in 30 uncomfortable minutes on the treadmill.

Since the sun was out this weekend, my boyfriend and I decided to go to our local outdoor swimming pool. Much to our disdain, it was unheated, and after the weather we’ve been having, it was freezing. I think it’s fair to say I swam less than 10 meters. The pool was packed with people – people in swimming lengths in wetsuits. Surely I burnt calories by merely trying to stay warm!?

Nonetheless, on a hotter day I will be back at the lido. I can honestly say that swimming is an exercise form I enjoy. (Well…at least tolerate…)

Standard

Leave a comment